Week 1

Hello! This is my first chance that I have had to email since arriving at the MTC. I didn’t have anyone else’s email memorized so can you please send this to Kaela and everyone else who wants to read it, please? I have already sent letters to a select few individuals including you that is a little bit more specific to you, so be expecting that.

This is more general things that have happened just so everyone knows i’m still alive. So, this week has been crazy busy! We have had our days scheduled out for us and its been so busy that I haven’t really had much of a chance to think about anything else. So, my companion’s name is Sister Hodgkin, she is from Germany and I absolutely love her! She speaks English really well which is nice for me. She will also be going to Temple Square! I have three other companionships in my district and we spend the majority of everyday together. We have Sister Jessop from American Samoa going to Long Beach, CA and Sister Wiberg from Washington DC going to Lansing Michigan. As for the elders, there’s Elder Bass, Elder Sylvester, Elder Giovannini and Elder Eggertson. All of them are from different places in Utah and they are also going to Lansing, Michigan. I love my district! I was really nervous about my companion and all the other missionaries that I would be serving with but they are all amazing!

Sister Hodgkin and I have already started to get some practice teaching. We have a few people that we get to meet with, plan lessons for and teach. Its been a huge learning experience for both of us and I look forward to learning more as time goes on. I have been really surprised at how well I have been adjusting to life here. Yeah, I hate showering in a dorm and getting up so early each morning is tough but its nothing I can’t deal with. I thought the weather was nice when I left home last week but it has been amazing here. I was able to go to the Provo Temple (which was awesome by the way) and when we came out, we had the most beautiful view of the Salt Lake Valley and it felt so nice outside. It was exactly what I needed.

So, a few things I found out is that I will be leaving the MTC to Temple Square on November 21st which I believe is the day before Thanksgiving. My preparation day will be on Tuesdays so that’s when I can write emails and letters. If anyone who is interested in writing me can use Dear Elder instead of my email, it would be way easier for me. I get to read it the next day and it doesn’t take time out of my 30 minutes of emailing I have. (If you don’t know how to use it, ask Kaela).

Well, I hope that everything is going well at home. I miss everybody but I am so happy to be a missionary. I can feel the Lord helping me and strengthening me in ways that I would never be able to on my own. I have felt so many of the Lord’s blessings in just the past week. Well, I love hearing from home and getting letters so please write me and I will write back! I love you and miss you (and can hopefully send pictures next week)!

With love, Sister Jordan Walls

Leave a Reply

