Week 2

So, it’s been almost two weeks here at the MTC and it has been a blur. I had so many people tell me that the time you spend here feels like forever and like nothing at the same time. For me, that has absolutely been the case. I am so ready to get to Temple Square! I just got back from the Provo Temple and it was, again, so beautiful! I feel so fortunate that the weather has been so nice. But, it is a little cold sometimes, especially in the morning. I have been wearing a coat while most of the sisters are wearing light cardigans which warrants a few weird glances. I should wear a sign that says, “I’m from Arizona, leave me alone”. But I am enjoying being here.

I have finally become somewhat used to the busy schedule and finding different buildings for different meetings. We have had groups of missionaries come and go since I got here so I feel a little bit like a veteran. My district will be leaving next week except for Sister Hodgkin and I who have an extra week of Temple Square training. I am going to be sad to see them go but also excited to focus on Temple Square stuff. We have the pleasure of singing in sacrament meeting this Sunday (it’s a tradition to have the departing district sing on their last Sunday). Everyone is looking forward to it . I offered to do an interpretive dance in the background instead since that should be much less embarrassing than me singing, but Sister Hodgkin told me no in German, which sounds really scary. I listened.

We have had eight different people that we have taught. Some it was just for the one time and others we get to continually teach. Most of it is just for practice, although we take it seriously. But, this past week, we were able to meet with a (real) investigator from Iran who is Muslim and her friend invited her to meet with us. We didn’t know this until about five minutes before the lesson. We were both really nervous but we prayed, sucked it up and just went for it. It was such a good experience. We were able to answer some of her questions and give her a copy of the Book of Mormon. I could feel the Spirit directing me to know what to say and how to answer her questions. Although she didn’t commit to be baptized or anything like that, I feel that it was a success because I know that I did exactly what the Lord wanted me to do in that situation. It is amazing how much easier it is to be confident when you know you don’t have to rely on your own strength but on the Lord’s.

I have experienced so many blessings as a missionary already in this short/long two week period. The other highlight of my week was daylight’s savings. I know that it sounds lame but, having never had daylight’s savings, it was soooo nice to have the extra hour of sleep. I have never appreciated sleep so much in my life than I do as a missionary. Well, I have learned about a million things this week but my thirty minutes is about up. This next week should be pretty boss!

Love, Sister Jordan Walls

Leave a Reply

