I Want Patience and I Want it Now!

It has been another amazing week in the best mission in the world! It has been nice to actually have the sun out the last few days. I never thought I would say this but it has been warm lately, it even got to 40 degrees. Because believe it or not, that is warm to me now.

It has been a week full of unexpected blessings, the best kind! Sadly, I have had to drop a lot of people lately that have not wanted to progress or that simply won’t answer their phone. The first time I dropped someone, I almost cried. I still don’t enjoy it by any means but I have faith that the Lord will take care of them when they are ready to learn and progress. The difficult thing about it is that I get really impatient in the teaching center (where we make the phone calls) because I want to stay busy. Because of this, my patience has worn a little thin when it comes to my abilities to teach, my situations, the Lord’s timing, my investigators, even with my companion. We had a really inspired lesson in Relief Society this past week about being patient with ourselves, our companion, the Lord and the future. I needed it. Maybe this isn’t the time that the Lord has set apart for me to teach and baptize a ton, but there are so many things that I have to be grateful for and so many people that I can help. When I get so focused on the things that I don’t have, I lose sight of the blessings that I do have. I imagined what it would be like to get someone an amazing gift, something that they asked for and wanted and then have them open it up, look at it and say “Well, maybe you’ll do better next time”. I would be so mad if that happened! It is the same with me. When I have an amazing day where so many of my prayers were answered and I had so many chances to serve, I sometimes look at the few things that I failed to do whether those things were within my control or not. Why can’t I just be grateful for the blessings I do have instead of the few things I don’t? When I focus on the people I didn’t get to help, I overlook the blessings of being able to serve those who I did actually help. It requires so much faith and patience with the Lord and His perfect timing but taking things one day at a time and being grateful for the blessings along the way have been the biggest source of happiness since I have arrived on my mission.

One of the blessings that I am most grateful for happened this morning while I was in the teaching center. I received a call from a man trying to find a church building in his area. I looked it up and gave him his bishop’s number and then started to talk with him. He told me that his family had been baptized about 20 years ago but he has been inactive for the vast majority of the time since. He said that he still remembers the way that he felt attending church as a child and that it is something that he wants as an option for his family. I asked him if he wanted the local missionaries to come and talk with his family. He said that he would love to! He wanted a couple copies of the Book of Mormon for his children to read. It was one of the best inbound calls that I have received in a long time. If I hadn’t had such a difficult teaching week, I wouldn’t of appreciated this blessing. It is important to note that halfway through this conversation, my phone was disconnected before I had a chance to take his information down. After resisting the urge to scream or punch something (I was really frustrated), we reconnected the phone call and everything was okay. I guess I still have a lot to learn about patience.

Sister WallsColors! Sister Walsh Twins Missionaries

Leave a Reply

