This Isn’t a Competition

I can’t believe its p-day again. Another week gone. It’s crazy! Some amazing things have happened this week that have really reminded me of how much the Lord is in control of His work. I don’t remember if I mentioned this before but, I talked to this man on the phone last transfer who hadn’t been to church in 20 years. He said that he wanted his family to learn about it to see if it was something that they want in their life. I sent the local missionaries and continued to teach him over the phone. It had been about two weeks that I wasn’t able to get a hold of him but, this week, I called him. He told me that he has been attending church with his two youngest children and that his 10 year old son is getting baptized. I almost screamed but decided to air punch in victory instead (The great thing about teaching over the phone is that no one can see your reactions). I was so excited (and I still am), but I wasn’t surprised. When I received that call from him weeks ago, I knew that I was meant to answer that call and I am grateful that the Lord gave me the chance to help this family in any small way. They are just amazing!

To add to how amazing that is, the rest of the people we have been teaching are doing really well and some are working towards baptism as well. We are teaching a few people in very remote parts of the world where it is difficult for them to attend church or meet with missionaries. We have some in Africa, Jamaica, Canada (middle of nowhere Canada), and, of course, the states. I LOVE teaching people! But, what missionary doesn’t?

So, since our mission is unique and we are not a part of any local ward, we have our own church meetings as a mission. We have our own Relief Society, with the leaders being sisters serving here. Once a transfer, we have a Relief Society activity, and we had one last night. We decorated these place mats with activities and fun things for sick children in local hospitals. I almost started crying when they said what we were going to do. I loved it because it combined two of my biggest loves, art and service. It reminded me of how important all of our individual talents are when it comes to doing the Lord’s work. In my mission especially, it can be difficult because I am surrounded all the time by tons of incredibly talented sisters. I have found myself at times envying their talents and ignoring my own. I read a talk this morning that answered my prayers in a way that I wasn’t expecting. It is a talk by Ezra Taft Benson called “Beware of Pride”. It talks a lot about how competition is formed through pride. It is a tool of the adversary to get us to feel inferior or superior to others. If he can get us to feel inferior or superior to others, our effectiveness diminishes and we will have a difficult time recognizing what God’s will is for us. It can be so difficult to recognize but, it is essential that we do. In the talk, he says, “The proud depend upon the world to tell them whether they have value or not. Their self-esteem is determined by where they are judged to be on the ladders of worldly success. Pride…limits or stops our progression”. Well, that humbled me. I have hope that the Lord will help me to move forward and see the best in everyone, myself included. The only way that we can be truly happy and content in our lives is to align our will with God’s. I know that the way to do that is by yielding our will to God’s through humility.

From Temple Square with love,
Sister WallsBread Bowls Crazy Sistas Photo Bomb-2 Teaching Center-2 Photo Bomb Teaching Center

Leave a Reply

