Welcome to the Busiest Week of My Life

Wow, it has been an eventful week! We have been so busy but I love it! Our first full day for this transfer was last Thursday. We have one day a week that we are in the Beehive House (Brigham Young’s house that he lived in). Neither of us have served in here before so it was funny to try to give the first couple of tours but we tried to just roll with it. Although we knew very little about the Beehive House, we do know a thing or two about the gospel. I think that made it easier to bridge to the gospel and invite. We had a couple that came in and actually referred themselves to local missionaries. So, we got to send the missionaries to them. They also wanted a copy of the Book of Mormon, which is pretty cool. It just goes to show that we are never limited by our circumstances. If we want an opportunity to find and teach bad enough, it can happen. I never thought something like that would have happened in the Beehive House.

We were also able to take a lesson where the missionaries in the local area bring the people they are teaching to have a lesson with us. The lesson was with this sweet part member family with a couple of young kids. The lesson was so powerful and as I looked at this family I remember having a strong impression that this family will one day be sealed in the temple for eternity. We were able to attend the baptism on Saturday and I was just so happy for this wonderful family!

On Friday, we were also asked to take around some missionaries in the MTC who are from out of the United States. It was an interesting experience. I wasn’t feeling too well in the first place and the Elders were all acting like fools as we were trying to take them around. I can recall that it wasn’t that long ago that I was a new missionary in the MTC and it took a little bit of adjusting but, come on. I tried to be patient but, I was a bit bugged by their behavior. I mean come on, we represent Jesus Christ.

Anyways, once that was over, we had some training for our new assignment in guest services. At first, I thought “how can I fulfill my calling as a missionary here”, just like I did in the Beehive House. But we planned for some miracles to happen throughout the day and happen they did. We were able to set up some of those lessons that I talked about before with the missionaries in the area. We pray about who should take it and then assign sisters according to their schedule. One of the most amazing miracles that happened in guest services is this lady called in referring her 70 year old aunt. She wanted me to teach her lessons over the phone and send the local missionaries in her area to her. She said that she was super interested and is ready to accept the gospel after years and years of asking questions. I called the lady and she was so sweet. It was an amazing conversation and I can’t wait to start teaching her. So many other things have happened that I don’t have enough time to explain. We have been teaching like crazy and I feel like there isn’t enough time in the day to do everything I need to do. But, I wouldn’t want it any other way. The trials that I have experienced this transfer so far have been different from what I have had in the past. The challenges of serving a mission seem to change constantly. But there are always blessings that accompany the difficult days and weeks. I know that the Lord is so aware of me and the people that I teach. I love serving the Lord in all of the unique ways that He allows me to serve every day. We’ll see what this next week brings!

From Temple Square with love,
Sister WallsNew Companion Pic

Leave a Reply

